THE WHY OF THIS

IMG_5566

After 34+ years of being a RN (Real Nurse), I’ve finally pulled the plug and called it quits.  After all, how long can a person punish herself with bedpan alleys and shift work?  Do I need to run to my own Code Blue?  I think not!

This little blog is about diffusing all the shit, excuse the pun, that has permeated into my being over these years.  I don’t mean to be negative.  There was a lot of perfume, too.  But you know how somehow the stink can be that much more overpowering.  I am trying to strike a balance.  I am learning how to live again.

What better way than story telling.  How did I come up with the name of the blog, So you call yourself a nurse?  Well, a long, long time ago, before I became actualized, when I was fresh out of nursing school, I was this little timid thing called a nurse.  One day, all her teammates were on their lunch break and she was left alone to hold down the fort.  She was running around tending to the patients, making sure they all got their lunches, helping them set up, etc. etc. etc.

The phone rang.  She answered.  It was the anesthesia department.  She didn’t know the answer to the doctor’s question.  She put him  on hold while she went to check.  Only in her busyness, she forgot and never got back to the doctor.  The phone rang again.  She realized her mistake.  She answered and got reprimanded.  She could hear the doctor saying loudly to another doctor in the background:  And she calls herself a nurse!  It was followed by laughter.

She has remembered this incidence after all these years.   I think she needs to put all this behind her in order to move ahead.  With tongue in cheek,  a healthy dash of humour, imagination and a little stretching the truth, she hopes to tell some entertaining stories behind the stethoscopes and bedpans.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

