THANK YOU(S)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This retired nurse is nursing herself these days back to health. She is doing a pretty good job lately, not beating up on herself, being more kind, generous and compassionate. Can a nurse ever stop being a nurse?

We get sick for a reason. Not that I wish myself ill, but I am learning to embrace the times that I am not feeling well as a sign that I need to rest an/or do something different. I am learning to honour and appreciate this human body and being. I give thanks to myself for always trying my best.

This morning I found this thank you card when I was searching for more Kleenex for my sniffles. It was from a young patient from long ago, when we were still in the old part of the hospital. I remembered her coming up to the ward with the card and a box of chocolate mints. And they were just for me! I had not thought that I gave her any special care. It gave me a sense of wonder.

You never know how your actions can affect another person. I appreciate her effort and generosity for her gratitude for she had come back after being discharged. She put her gifts in my hands. And isn’t it a wonderful gift she gave me? I still remember it after all these years when I most needed the reminding.

THANK YOU. I APPRECIATE YOU.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

