REFLECTIONS ON A CAREER

IMG_5511

It’s the last day of 2013.  I’ve been neglecting this little blog of mine.  I thought I would have many stories, insight, and words of wisdom to impart.  But alas…NOT.

But what I know for sure, to steal Oprah’s phrase,  is that I am very happy not to have to get up in the dark of a cold winter morning and navigate on the slippery streets to work.  I am happy not to drive home on the same slippery busy streets after a 12 hour night shift.  I am happy to give up all the code blacks, blues, browns and reds of hospital life.  I am happy not to be tired all the time.

That’s not saying that I do not appreciate what that life has given me in return – a wage, a retirement income, an education in life and death, comradeship and many other unnameable things.  But there is a season for everything.  There is a time for every purpose under Heaven.  There is life outside the hospital corridors, the bedpan alleys.  This is the time for me.  That is what I know for sure.

It’s been 5 full months since ‘retirement’.  I have not been idle or bored.  There’s not enough time in the day for that.  There’s so much of ‘me’ to recover, revamp and rediscover.  Where have I been all my life?  It really is an adventure this thing call retirement.  It’s a renewal.  What a great time to recognize it – on the brink of a new year.

Happy New Year to all.

About hafong

Hello! My name is (Leung) Hafong alias Lily Leung. You always say the last name first….that is the Chinese way. That is my partner lurking behind me. Since this is my blog, I won’t mention his name. But this is a rather cool picture. You see me and yet you don’t…sort of the way I feel about myself most of my life. So this blog is a self-exploration, an archeology dig of some sort. My tools…..words of a thousand or so at a sitting. I will try for that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

